Skip to content

Welcome to the Residential Alternative Energy Blog

October 23, 2009

Welcome to Tree House Alternative Energy.  On this site you will find information related to the opportunities and challenges associated with adoption of residential renewable energy solutions. I have started this blog as a way of sharing what I have learned and continue to learn about the complexity surrounding solar, wind, hydro and geothermal applications.

When I first set out on what I thought would be the simple objective of making my home more energy efficient by implementing technologies that were largely invented here in the U.S. and widely available, I become amazed at the complexity and economic challenges.  All of these obstacles exist in spite of the fact that most of the U.S. population is aware of the environmental and energy independence priorities for our country.

As recently as today on YouTube, you can hear President Obama urging the country to take aggressive action on these issues.

But I can report to you, that as a homeowner, the journey to do it on your own is anything but easy, and far from economical (despite the fact that state and federal government incentives are now frequently footing the bill for up to 50% of the cost of a major alternative energy upgrade).

For now, this site is exclusively focused on the homeowner experience to retrofit major HVAC and electrical systems with renewable energy solutions.  It is not an all-purpose “green” web site.

Please follow my experience, post questions and send me (bruce@treehouseenergy.com) or post your experiences and solutions on how you got it done.  I will post everything that comes in (that’s not an advertisement).  I encourage you to write me at bruce@treehouseenergy.com with your experiences and opinions and over time I will allow third part posts so that this site can become a community for improving all homeowners’ experiences with renewable energy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

